US Lawmakers Introduced legislation to Stop Government Use of Facial Recognition Technology


A group of US lawmakers, which is being led by the Pramila Jayapal, Indian-American Congresswoman has introduced a bicameral legislation for stopping the use of the biometric facial technology by the government of the United States of America, which also includes the different tools of facial recognition, which the group said, are violating the privacy of the people of the country and it also deepens the racial bias in the policing.

On Tuesday, 15th June 2021, the lawmakers have introduced the Facial recognition and Biometric technology Moratorium Act, that responds to the reports that many of the local, state and federal bodies, which includes the law enforcement agencies have been using the unregulated facial recognition technologies and according to a research, around of the adults in the country have already been in the databases of facial recognition technology.

Pramila Jayapal along with Rashida Tlaib and Ayanna Pressley have together introduced the legislation in the House of Representatives, and the senators including Edward J Markey, Bernie Sanders, Ron Wyden, Jeff Merkley and Elizabeth Warren have been introduced in the senate.

READ  Neuralink Planning to Implant Chips in Human Brains for Treating Neural Disorders

The Facial Recognition and Biometric technology Moratorium Act is going to be imposing a prohibition on the usage of the facial recognition technology by the federal entities of the country that can only be lifted with an of the congress, and the act is also going to prohibit the use of the several other biometric technologies which includes voice recognition, gate recognition and also the recognition of the other immutable physical characteristics of the federal entities of the country.